Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones (cover by Sarah Watts)Murder, Magic, and What We Wore
by Kelly Jones
September 19, 2017
Knopf Books for Young Readers

Preorder a signed copy!
(Just add a note in the instructions box requesting it be signed by author Kelly Jones when you place your order.)

See more and read an excerpt!

DESCRIPTION:

Fans of Patrice Kindl’s Keeping the Castle or Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer’s Sorcery and Cecelia will adore this funny Regency-era mystery about a determined young woman with a magical trick up her sleeve . . .

The year is 1818, the city is London, and 16-year-old Annis Whitworth has just learned that her father is dead and all his money is missing. And so, of course, she decides to become a spy. Annis always suspected that her father was himself a spy, and following in his footsteps to unmask his killer makes perfect sense. Alas, it does not make sense to England’s current spymasters–not even when Annis reveals that she has the rare magical ability to sew glamours: garments that can disguise the wearer completely. Well, if the spies are too pigheaded to take on a young woman of quality, then Annis will take them on. And so she crafts a new double life for herself. Miss Annis Whitworth will appear to live a quiet life in a country cottage with her aunt, and Annis-in-disguise as Madame Martine, glamour artist, will open a magical dressmaking shop. That way she can earn a living, maintain her social standing, and, in her spare time, follow the coded clues her father left behind and unmask his killer. It can’t be any harder than navigating the London social season, can it?

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore blew my bonnet off. Kelly Jones has found a fresh way to share the delights of the magical regency. I truly love this book ” –Caroline Stevermer, coauthor of Sorcery & Cecilia, or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot
“A deliciously enchanting adventure full of magic, mystery and delight.” –Stephanie Burgis, author of Kat, Incorrigible

 

REVIEWS:

School Library Journal, July 2017, starred review
“A cross between Jane Austen dramas and Harriet the Spy, this delightful strong female–led title mixes historical fiction and spy mystery with a touch of magic to produce a story filled with adventure. Jones infuses her female characters with boldness, intelligence, and wit. Refreshing.”

Booklist, July 25, 2017
“A touch of Jane Austen, a dash of adventure, and just a hint of magic make it shine.”

Kirkus, June 15, 2017
“’Women’s work’ is a weapon in this female-centric spy novel set in the Regency era… A great deal of fun, one stitch at a time.”

See interviews and reviews for Murder, Magic, and What We Wore here!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes